Keep or Replace· by Livalyo
GB
Menu
Generated, unofficial illustration of Apple iPad mini 2
Illustrative image — appearance may vary by version or market. · Generated illustration, not an official manufacturer image.

Tablets · Apple

Apple iPad mini 2 review (Retina display model, late-2013)

This record covers Apple iPad mini 2. Screen diagonal: 7.9 inches. Storage: 16 GB.

Your situation

Decision context · GB · GBP

Our scores

Longevity

Longevity score not available

Version 3.2.0

Required to calculate the score:

  • Announcement or release date (to the month or year)
  • Current support status or published end year
Details that would improve the score (6)
  • Published support end date
  • Announced minimum support duration
  • Repairability index with scale and scheme
  • Parts currently available
  • Official repair manual
  • Replaceable battery
How the decision is calculated

Declared resilience

Not rated

Missing criteria: Declared battery cycles, Declared water and dust protection, Declared repeated drop resistance, Declared support duration

Provisional

Coverage 0 %

Version declared-resilience/4.3.0

Published declarations: this score does not predict service life.

Score methodology

Editorial repairability

Not rated

Missing criteria: Disassembly depth, Repair documentation, Fastener removal, Availability of a compatible genuine part

Provisional

Coverage 0 %

Version repairability/4.3.0

Editorial score separate from the regulatory index and the longevity score.

Score methodology

Customer feedback

9.25/10

Provisional

Coverage 100 %

Version customer-feedback/4.2.0

Publishers : boulanger.com

boulanger.com · 42 reviews

Customer satisfaction, not a durability test.

Score methodology

What we know

Usage limitationit certainly doesn't make any practical difference in use. wired.com

Check your repair quote

Enter the repair quote you received to compare it with the maximum repair price recommended for this device.

The threshold cannot be calculated yet because required product information is incomplete.

Version repair-economics/1.4.0 · How the decision is calculated

Strengths and things to know

Reported strengths

  • physical design

Good to know

  • the device has become heavier and thicker

Prices

GB · GBP Published price information for this market, without currency conversion. Prices do not affect the verdict.

Unverified price: about £30

Used · 32 GB · Oct 22, 2026

Recorded by Livalyo without a verifiable source; this is not an offer.

Key facts

Repairability

Repair limitations
There's no memory-card slot, so storage can't be expanded. consumerreports.org · Oct 18, 2026

Durability

Editorial justifications
Apple has taken its landmark tablet and made it significantly better. · The barely-noticeable increase in weight is offset largely by the phenomenal increase in screen quality and processing performance, not to mentioning graphical horsepower. wired.com · Oct 18, 2026wired.com · Oct 18, 2026
Isolated report
the battery still needs checking because the charger only provides charging up to 80%
Translated from FrenchOriginal text : la batterie reste a verifie car le chargeur fournit recharge jusqua 80%
boulanger.com · Oct 18, 2026
Limitations
the device has become heavier and thicker wired.com · Oct 18, 2026
Protection
utilizes toughened glass for durability consumerreports.org · Oct 18, 2026
Number of reviews
42 boulanger.com · Oct 18, 2026boulanger.com · Oct 18, 2026
Review platforms
boulanger.com boulanger.com · Oct 18, 2026
Review scale
4,7/5 boulanger.com · Oct 18, 2026
Review score
4.7 boulanger.com · Oct 18, 2026boulanger.com · Oct 18, 2026
Show all specifications
Strengths
physical design wired.com
Suitable usage profiles
If you already use an iPad mini and love the form factor, it's money well spent no doubt. wired.com
Unconfirmed signal
ESRA Verified purchase 4/5 IPAD tablet IPAD works very well, however the battery still needs to be checked because the charger only provides charging up to 80%, compared with the real APPEL charger
Translated from FrenchOriginal text : ESRA Achat vérifié 4/5 IPAD tablette IPAD fonctionne tres bien neanmoins la batterie reste a verifie car le chargeur fournit recharge jusqua 80% que le vrai chargeur APPEL
boulanger.com
Usage limitation
it certainly doesn't make any practical difference in use. wired.com

Specifications

Audio
a headphone jack with a volume control, a built-in microphone, and stereo speakers consumerreports.org · Oct 18, 2026
Brand
Apple consumerreports.org · Oct 18, 2026
Front camera
a 1.2-megapixel webcam consumerreports.org · Oct 18, 2026
Main camera
a 5-megapixel camera consumerreports.org · Oct 18, 2026
Connectivity
Wi-Fi boulanger.com · Oct 18, 2026boulanger.com · Oct 18, 2026
CPU
The iPad mini 2 has the same A7 CPU as the iPad Air. wired.com · Oct 18, 2026
Screen size
7.9 inches boulanger.com · Oct 18, 2026boulanger.com · Oct 18, 2026boulanger.com · Oct 18, 2026boulanger.com · Oct 18, 2026
Resolution
2,048x1,536 wired.com · Oct 18, 2026
Show all specifications
Keyboard compatibility
Yes, it lets you turn your tablet into a mini computer
Translated from FrenchOriginal text : Oui, permet de transformer votre tablette en mini ordinateur
boulanger.comboulanger.com
Model
Apple iPad mini 2 review (Retina display model, late-2013) wired.com
RAM options
1 GB wired.com
Processor
The iPad mini 2 has the same A7 CPU as the iPad Air. wired.com
Storage options
16 GB boulanger.com
Not disclosed · 65
Declared drop resistance
not disclosed
Acknowledged defect
not disclosed
Risks
not disclosed
Assessment method
not disclosed
Available parts
not disclosed
Battery replacement
not disclosed
Disassembly depth score
not disclosed
Repair eligibility
not disclosed
EU repairability class
not disclosed
Fasteners score
not disclosed
Repair manual
not disclosed
Parts pairing restrictions
not disclosed
Spare parts availability
not disclosed
Repair programme
not disclosed
Index scale
not disclosed
Index scheme
not disclosed
Repairability index
not disclosed
Announcement date
not disclosed
Battery capacity
not disclosed
Charge cycles
not disclosed
Battery energy
not disclosed
Bluetooth
not disclosed
Optical image stabilisation
not disclosed
Telephoto camera
not disclosed
Ultra-wide camera
not disclosed
Mobile connectivity
not disclosed
Declared battery life
not disclosed
Brightness
not disclosed
Refresh rate
not disclosed
Display technology
not disclosed
eSIM
not disclosed
Fingerprint sensor
not disclosed
5G
not disclosed
GPU
not disclosed
Height
not disclosed
IP rating
not disclosed
Manufacturer reference
not disclosed
Weight
not disclosed
Measurement protocols
not disclosed
NFC
not disclosed
RAM
not disclosed
Release year
not disclosed
SIM
not disclosed
Stylus compatibility
not disclosed
Supported frequency bands
not disclosed
Thickness
not disclosed
USB
not disclosed
Variant
not disclosed
VoLTE
not disclosed
Width
not disclosed
Wi-Fi
not disclosed
Wireless charging
not disclosed
Announced support period
not disclosed
Support commitment
not disclosed
Current official OS
not disclosed
OS upgrades delivered
not disclosed
Published end-of-support year
not disclosed
Last documented patch
not disclosed
OS at launch
not disclosed
Manufacturer interface
not disclosed
Patch scope
not disclosed
Promised OS upgrades
not disclosed
Support status
not disclosed
Support variant
not disclosed
Update release date
not disclosed

Summary

This record covers Apple iPad mini 2. Screen diagonal: 7.9 inches. Storage: 16 GB.

Durability and repair

No admissible observation for this section.

Software support

No admissible observation for this section.

Sources and confidence

  1. wired.comOct 18, 2026

    Apple has taken its landmark tablet and made it significantly better.

    Open source
  2. boulanger.comOct 18, 2026

    la batterie reste a verifie car le chargeur fournit recharge jusqua 80%

    Open source
  3. consumerreports.orgOct 18, 2026

    utilizes toughened glass for durability

    Open source
  4. boulanger.comOct 18, 2026

    42

    Open source
Reference date
2026-11-06
Published revision
2050
Evidence coverage
Not disclosed
Sources shown
4

Commercial offers stay separate from the score and verdict.