Keep or Replace· by Livalyo
US
Menu
Generated, unofficial illustration of Apple iPad mini 4
Illustrative image — appearance may vary by version or market. · Generated illustration, not an official manufacturer image.

Tablets · Apple

Apple iPad mini 4

This record covers Apple iPad mini 4. Screen diagonal: 7.9 inches. Storage: 16 GB.

Your situation

Decision context · US · USD

Our scores

Longevity

Longevity score not available

Version 3.2.0

Required to calculate the score:

  • Announcement or release date (to the month or year)
  • Current support status or published end year
Details that would improve the score (6)
  • Published support end date
  • Announced minimum support duration
  • Repairability index with scale and scheme
  • Parts currently available
  • Official repair manual
  • Replaceable battery
How the decision is calculated

Declared resilience

Not rated

Missing criteria: Declared battery cycles, Declared water and dust protection, Declared repeated drop resistance, Declared support duration

Provisional

Coverage 0 %

Version declared-resilience/4.3.0

Published declarations: this score does not predict service life.

Score methodology

Editorial repairability

Not rated

Missing criteria: Disassembly depth, Repair documentation, Fastener removal, Availability of a compatible genuine part

Provisional

Coverage 0 %

Version repairability/4.3.0

Editorial score separate from the regulatory index and the longevity score.

Score methodology

Customer feedback

Not rated

Provisional

Coverage 100 %

Version customer-feedback/4.2.0

Customer satisfaction, not a durability test.

Score methodology

What we know

Protectionthe build quality and the choice of materials are unimpeachable notebookcheck.net

Check your repair quote

Enter the repair quote you received to compare it with the maximum repair price recommended for this device.

The threshold cannot be calculated yet because required product information is incomplete.

Version repair-economics/1.4.0 · How the decision is calculated

Support and repairability

Repair programme
Apple only offers Apple Care+ to extend the warranty period of the iPad.

Strengths and things to know

Reported strengths

  • the build quality and the choice of materials are unimpeachable

Good to know

  • The rear, however, seems to be very susceptible to micro scratches
  • The fully laminated display in particular increases the costs when the panel is damaged.

Prices

US · USD Published price information for this market, without currency conversion. Prices do not affect the verdict.

Unverified price: about $170 (before sales tax)

New · 128 GB · Oct 22, 2026

Recorded by Livalyo without a verifiable source; this is not an offer.

Key facts

Repairability

Repair eligibility
two self-inflicted damages can be repaired for a service fee of 49 Euros (~$55) each notebookcheck.net · Oct 18, 2026
Repair programme
Apple only offers Apple Care+ to extend the warranty period of the iPad. notebookcheck.net · Oct 18, 2026
Repair limitations
Apple did improve the internal layout, but it is still not easier to repair. · The fully laminated display in particular increases the costs when the panel is damaged. notebookcheck.net · Oct 18, 2026notebookcheck.net · Oct 18, 2026

Durability

Editorial justifications
The iPad Mini 4 is one of the most robust and premium-feeling tablets on the market · it's going to handle the odd drop from the bed techradar.com · Oct 18, 2026techradar.com · Oct 18, 2026
Limitations
The rear, however, seems to be very susceptible to micro scratches · The fully laminated display in particular increases the costs when the panel is damaged. notebookcheck.net · Oct 18, 2026notebookcheck.net · Oct 18, 2026
Protection
the build quality and the choice of materials are unimpeachable notebookcheck.net · Oct 18, 2026
Number of reviews
1 boulanger.com · Oct 18, 2026
Review score
5.0 boulanger.com · Oct 18, 2026
Risks
The rear, however, seems to be very susceptible to micro scratches · it will collect dirt over time notebookcheck.net · Oct 18, 2026notebookcheck.net · Oct 18, 2026
Strengths
the build quality and the choice of materials are unimpeachable notebookcheck.net · Oct 18, 2026
Suitable usage profiles
it's a tablet that can actually go in your pocket. · which makes it even easier to slip into the inside pocket of a jacket or hide in a bag. techradar.com · Oct 18, 2026techradar.com · Oct 18, 2026
Show all specifications
Usage limitation
The rear, however, seems to be very susceptible to micro scratches notebookcheck.net

Specifications

Audio
Speakers: stereo speakers notebookcheck.net · Oct 18, 2026
Battery capacity
5124 mAh notebookcheck.net · Oct 18, 2026
Battery energy
19 Wh notebookcheck.net · Oct 18, 2026
Bluetooth
Bluetooth 4.2 notebookcheck.net · Oct 18, 2026
Brand
Apple boulanger.com · Oct 18, 2026
Front camera
Webcam: FaceTime camera (1.2 MP; 720p) notebookcheck.net · Oct 18, 2026
Main camera
iSight camera (8 MP, f/2.4, 1080p, slo-mo, time lapse) notebookcheck.net · Oct 18, 2026
Connectivity
Wi-Fi boulanger.com · Oct 18, 2026
Show all specifications
CPU
2c/2t 2 x 1.4 GHz @ 1.5 GHz, Cyclone 2 notebookcheck.net
Brightness
443 notebookcheck.net
Screen size
7.9 inches boulanger.comboulanger.com
Resolution
2048 x 1536 pixel notebookcheck.net
Display technology
Retina Display, IPS notebookcheck.net
Fingerprint sensor
1 Fingerprint Reader notebookcheck.net
GPU
PowerVR GX6450 notebookcheck.net
Keyboard compatibility
No
Translated from FrenchOriginal text : Non
boulanger.com
Measurement protocols
Retina Display tested with X-Rite i1Pro 2 notebookcheck.net
Model
IPAD Mini 4 boulanger.com
RAM options
2 GB notebookcheck.net
Processor
Apple A8 notebookcheck.net
Storage options
128 GB notebookcheck.net
USB
Lightning (USB 2.0) notebookcheck.net
Wi-Fi
802.11 a/b/g/n/ac notebookcheck.net
Not disclosed · 56
Declared drop resistance
not disclosed
Isolated report
not disclosed
Acknowledged defect
not disclosed
Review platforms
not disclosed
Review scale
not disclosed
Unconfirmed signal
not disclosed
Assessment method
not disclosed
Available parts
not disclosed
Battery replacement
not disclosed
Disassembly depth score
not disclosed
EU repairability class
not disclosed
Fasteners score
not disclosed
Repair manual
not disclosed
Parts pairing restrictions
not disclosed
Spare parts availability
not disclosed
Index scale
not disclosed
Index scheme
not disclosed
Repairability index
not disclosed
Announcement date
not disclosed
Charge cycles
not disclosed
Optical image stabilisation
not disclosed
Telephoto camera
not disclosed
Ultra-wide camera
not disclosed
Mobile connectivity
not disclosed
Declared battery life
not disclosed
Refresh rate
not disclosed
eSIM
not disclosed
5G
not disclosed
Height
not disclosed
IP rating
not disclosed
Manufacturer reference
not disclosed
Weight
not disclosed
NFC
not disclosed
RAM
not disclosed
Release year
not disclosed
SIM
not disclosed
Stylus compatibility
not disclosed
Supported frequency bands
not disclosed
Thickness
not disclosed
Variant
not disclosed
VoLTE
not disclosed
Width
not disclosed
Wireless charging
not disclosed
Announced support period
not disclosed
Support commitment
not disclosed
Current official OS
not disclosed
OS upgrades delivered
not disclosed
Published end-of-support year
not disclosed
Last documented patch
not disclosed
OS at launch
not disclosed
Manufacturer interface
not disclosed
Patch scope
not disclosed
Promised OS upgrades
not disclosed
Support status
not disclosed
Support variant
not disclosed
Update release date
not disclosed

Summary

This record covers Apple iPad mini 4. Screen diagonal: 7.9 inches. Storage: 16 GB.

Durability and repair

No admissible observation for this section.

Software support

No admissible observation for this section.

Sources and confidence

  1. techradar.comOct 18, 2026

    The iPad Mini 4 is one of the most robust and premium-feeling tablets on the market

    Open source
  2. notebookcheck.netOct 18, 2026

    The fully laminated display in particular increases the costs when the panel is damaged.

    Open source
  3. boulanger.comOct 18, 2026

    1

    Open source
Reference date
2026-11-06
Published revision
1814
Evidence coverage
Not disclosed
Sources shown
3

Commercial offers stay separate from the score and verdict.